Public humiliation is a commodity and shame is an industry: Monica Lewinsky

SUNDAY’S QUOTE


“A marketplace has emerged where public humiliation is a commodity and shame is an industry,” she asks. “How is the money made? Clicks. The more shame, the more clicks; the more clicks, the more advertising dollars … We are in a dangerous cycle: the more we click on this kind of gossip, the more numb we get to the human lives behind it. And the more numb we get, the more we click.” – Monica Lewinsky

Monica Lewinsky brought up her infamous affair with former US President Bill Clinton back in 1998, while Monica was a White House intern and Clinton was the leader of the free world. She gave a TED Talk at the 2015 event in Vancouver, Canada, on Thursday, Mar. 19, during which she said –

“At the age of 22, I fell in love with my boss,”  but “At the age of 24, I learned the devastating consequences. “  She asked – “Who didn’t make a mistake at 22?”

“I was branded as a tramp, tart, slut, whore, bimbo and, of course, ‘that woman.’ I was known by many, but actually known by few. – Monica Lewinsky

It is Nicolaus Mills’ concept of a “culture of humiliation.”

“Now I admit I made mistakes — especially wearing that beret — but the attention and judgment that I received — not the story, but that I personally received — was unprecedented,” she says. “I was branded as a tramp, tart, slut, whore, bimbo and, of course, ‘that woman.’ I was known by many, but actually known by few. I get it. It was easy to forget ‘that woman’ was dimensional and had a soul.” Listen heart breaking ”culture of humiliation” from MONICA LEWINSKY on TED Talk

12 Comments

  1. Well, she willingly hurt the wife. Love is always the excuse for having an affair with a married man. Making a mistake , I’m sorry, is also another excuse. meanwhile she could have wrecked a family permanently.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the comments.
      Ha ha ha ! Yes, you are absolutely right, but it is also a fact of other side of the coin that need to be considered that a husband of Hilary Clinton and the US President leading the World and used a staff girl of 22 for his romance, I think, that is hurt not only Monica Lewinsky or Hilary Clinton but also entire World.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. I honor you great thought looking him as a ‘man’ but I am viewing him as a leader of the world and the responsibility.

          It is good to share our thoughts, Thanks for sharing your brilliant thought.

          Like

  2. My questions for Monica have always been: What in the hell did you think would happen when you agreed to have sex with a married man, your boss, the President of the United States? Why are you surprised to be shamed?” He is worse; no question about it. But you are NOT blameless. You were an adult. Own it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and such mind storming thoughts. Definitely you sealed my lips regarding their personal role and responsibility as you mentioned ‘he is worse’ but just on the go, I am encouraged to view this incident from the perspective of our ‘modern’ media, society and the culture too. She sensitised a big question “Who didn’t make a mistake at 22?” but she expressed her pain as “I was branded as a tramp, tart, slut, whore, and bimbo.’’ Don’t you think this is a serious matter of justice need to be considered!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree that name-calling isn’t helpful and certainly having her mistakes “writ large” in the public eye didn’t help her recover from the humiliation and despair she must have felt. I am not without compassion; I was once making horrible mistakes myself at that age and luckily I wasn’t made famous for them.
        I guess I would say: if you put yourself in the public eye (by having a job at the White House, for example) that is MORE of a reason to behave well, don’t you think?

        So, she behaves badly, gets branded bad names, and then complains about it. Fine. Now, what, 20 years later? I am interested in what SHE would have done differently, if she found herself at that crossroads again, instead of how she wants OTHERS to behave differently towards her.

        Best to you,

        Sally

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Don for the visit and comments.

      I hope so, but ‘‘Making Globalization work will not be easy. Those who benefit from the current system will resist change, and they are powerful’’- Joseph Stiglitz.

      Like

Comments are closed.